Jiang Lab

Soft Matter and Nano Engineering Laboratory

Group Members

(More photos)
Principle Investigator
Shan Jiang Photo

Shan Jiang, PhD

Assistant Professor
Materials Science and Engineering Department
Agronomy Department (courtesy)
Iowa State University

Prior Research Experience
•Project Leader, Waterborne Coating Technology, The Dow Chemical Company
•Postdoc, Drug Delivery and Gene Therapy, MIT, Langer Lab
•Ph.D., Janus Particles Synthesis and Self-assembly, UIUC, Granick Lab

Awards and Honors

•Dean’s Excellence in Learning and Teaching Grant, 2019
•NSF-USDA EAGER Grant Award, 2019
•ACS Petroleum Research Fund Doctoral New Investigator Grant Award, 2019
•Biobased Chemical/Bioproduct Seed Grant, 2019
•Regents Innovation Fund Award, 2018, 2019
•College of Human Sciences Intramural Collaborative Seed Grant, ISU, 2019
•Presidential Interdisciplinary Research Seed (PIRS) Grant Award, ISU, 2019
•First-Year Honors Mentor Grant, ISU, 2017, 2018, 2019
•The Education Leadership Award, Iowa Chinese Association, 2019
•3M Non-tenured Faculty Award, 3M, 2018
•NSF conference proposal award, 2018
•Center for Bioplastics and Biocomposites (CB2) Grant Award, NSF I/UCRC, 2017
•Foreign Travel Grant Award, ISU, 2016
•YCC Leadership Development Award, ACS, 2015
• Certified Dow Six Sigma Green Belt Project Leader, 2014
• Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, R&D 100 Award (team member), 2013
• MIT Postdoc Association Travel Grant, MIT, 2012
• Conference Travel Award, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2009
• Racheff-Intel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research, 2008

Office: Hoover 2220BD & Gilman 3111
Lab: Gilman Hall
Email: sjiang1@iastate.edu

Scholars and Students
Fei Liu

Fei Liu, Ph.D.

Visiting Scholar
Ph.D., Peking University
NSF and ACS Conference Travel Award
Postdoctoral Scholar Seed Grant Award


email: fliu@iastate.edu

Kyle Miller

Kyle Miller

Ph.D. Candidate
Trinect Fellow Award


email: kylem167@iastate.edu

Yifan Li

Yifan Li

Ph.D. Candidate
Presidential Scholar
Master: Cornell University


email: yifanli@iastate.edu

Ayuna Tsyrenova

Ayuna Tsyrenova

Ph.D. Candidate
Teaching Excellence Award
Master: National University of Science and Technology MISiS


email: ayuna@iastate.edu

Emily Olson

Emily Olson

Ph.D. Candidate
Brown Graduate Fellowship


email: ejolson@iastate.edu

Zihao photo

Zihao Xu

Ph.D. Candidate

email: zihaoxu@iastate.edu

Rebecca Mort

Rebecca Mort

Ph.D. Candidate
Bachelor: Cornell University


email: rjmort@iastate.edu

Huang photo

Yanhua (Conan) Huang

Master Candidate

email: yanhuah@iastate.edu

Devin photo

Devin Palm

Undergraduate Student
Honor Program


email: dcpalm@iastate.edu

Madi photo

Madison Drent

Undergraduate Student

email: mldrent@iastate.edu

Mason photo

Mason Kenkel

First-Year Honors Undergraduate Student

email: mnkenkel@iastate.edu

Henry photo

Henry Thurber

First-Year Honors Undergraduate Student

email: hthurber@iastate.edu

Iowa State Logo

We have a postdoc position opening for research in nanoparticle and biobased coating field. Candidates with background in polymer, material synthesis and nanotechnology are encouraged to apply. Please send your application and CV through email sjiang1@iastate.edu.

We are always interested in Ph.D., Master candidates and undergraduate students with polymer background. However, all motivated and hard-working candidates are encouraged to apply.


Alumni
Serkan Demirci

Serkan Demirci, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor
Assistant Professor, Amasya University
Ph.D., Gazi University    


email: sdemirci@iastate.edu

Dana Photo

Dana Smith

Undergraduate Student

email: smithdg@iastate.edu

Connor photo

Connor Hammons

Undergraduate Student

email: chammons@iastate.edu

Nancy photo

Nancy Sweeney

Summer SULI Student

email: nsweeney@iastate.edu

Weston photo

Weston Laake

Undergraduate Student

email: wjlaake@iastate.edu

Charlie photo

Charles Truka

Undergraduate Student

email: cjtruka@iastate.edu

Ana photo

Ana Miller

Undergraduate Student
NSF REU Award


email: anam@iastate.edu

Riley photo

Riley Behan

Undergraduate Student
NSF REU Award


rmbehan@iastate.edu

Carmen photo

Carmen Wu

Summer NSF REU Student

email: cwu1@iastate.edu

Yasmeen photo

Yasmeen Mansoorieh

Undergraduate Student

email: yasmeenm@iastate.edu

John photo

John Henjum

Undergraduate Student

email: henjumjo@iastate.edu