Jiang Lab

Soft Matter and Nano Engineering Laboratory

Group Members

(More photos)
Principle Investigator
Shan Jiang Photo

Shan Jiang, PhD

Assistant Professor
Materials Science and Engineering
Agronomy (courtesy)
Crop Bioengineering Center (CBC)
Polymer and Food Protection Consortium (PFPC)
Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (courtesy)

Prior Research Experience
•Project Leader, Waterborne Coating Technology, The Dow Chemical Company
•Postdoc, Drug Delivery and Gene Therapy, MIT, Langer Lab
•Ph.D., Janus Particles Synthesis and Self-assembly, UIUC, Granick Lab

Awards and Honors

•Early Achievement in Teaching Award, 2021
•Dean’s Excellence in Learning and Teaching Grant, 2021
•Regents Innovation Fund Award, 2021
•Miller Faculty Fellowship, 2021
•Crop Bioengineering Center (CBC) Seed Grant Award, 2021
•NSF Innovations in Graduate Education (IGE) Grant Award, 2020
•NSF IUSE EHR Undergraduate Education Grant Award, 2020
•Miller Open Education Mini-Grant Program Award, 2020
•Foreign Travel Grant Award, ISU, 2020
•NASA ISGC BASE Program Award, 2020
•NASA EPSCoR Program Award, 2020
•Regents Innovation Fund Award, 2018 - 2020
•Dean’s Excellence in Learning and Teaching Grant, 2019
•NSF-USDA EAGER Grant Award, 2019
•ACS Petroleum Research Fund (PRF) Doctoral New Investigator Grant Award, 2019
•Biobased Chemical/Bioproduct Seed Grant, 2019
•College of Human Sciences Intramural Collaborative Seed Grant, ISU, 2019
•Presidential Interdisciplinary Research Seed (PIRS) Grant Award, ISU, 2019
•First-Year Honors Mentor Grant, ISU, 2017, 2018, 2019
•The Education Leadership Award, Iowa Chinese Association, 2019
•3M Non-tenured Faculty Award, 3M, 2018
•NSF conference proposal award, 2018
•Center for Bioplastics and Biocomposites (CB2) Grant Award, NSF I/UCRC, 2017
•Foreign Travel Grant Award, ISU, 2016
•YCC Leadership Development Award, ACS, 2015
• Certified Dow Six Sigma Green Belt Project Leader, 2014
• Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award, R&D 100 Award (team member), 2013
• MIT Postdoc Association Travel Grant, MIT, 2012
• Conference Travel Award, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2009
• Racheff-Intel Award for Outstanding Graduate Research, 2008

Office: Hoover 2220BD & Gilman 3111
Lab: Gilman Hall
Email: sjiang1@iastate.edu
Mailing address:
528 Bissell Road
Ames, IA 50011-2300

Scholars and Students
Fei Liu

Fei Liu, Ph.D.

Visiting Scholar
Ph.D., Peking University
NSF and ACS Conference Travel Award
Postdoctoral Scholar Seed Grant Award


email: fliu@iastate.edu

Alan Eggenberger

Alan Eggenberger, Ph.D.

Research Scientist
Ph.D., Washington University in St. Louis

email: ale@iastate.edu

Kyle Miller

Kyle Miller

Ph.D. Candidate
Trinect Fellow Award
ISU Teaching Excellence Award


email: kylem167@iastate.edu

Yifan Li

Yifan Li

Ph.D. Candidate
Master: Cornell University
Presidential Scholar, Brown Graduate Fellowship
ISU Teaching Excellence Award


email: yifanli@iastate.edu

Ayuna Tsyrenova

Ayuna Tsyrenova

Ph.D. Candidate
Master: National University of Science and Technology MISiS
Fulbright Scholar, Catron Fellowship
ISU Teaching Excellence Award

email: ayuna@iastate.edu

Rebecca Mort

Rebecca Mort

Ph.D. Candidate
Bachelor: Cornell University


email: rjmort@iastate.edu

Matthew Marander

Matthew Marander

Ph.D. Candidate
Bachelor: Iowa State University


email: marander@iastate.edu

Connor Thorpe

Connor Thorpe

Ph.D. Candidate
Bachelor: University of Arizona
F. Wendell Miller Graduate Scholarship


email: cthorpe@iastate.edu

Tyler Kirscht

Tyler Kirscht

M.S. Candidate
Bachelor: Iowa State University


email: tkirscht@iastate.edu

Andrew Ruba

Andrew Ruba

Undergraduate Student

email: ajruba@iastate.edu

Chanhong Lee

Chanhong Lee

Undergraduate Student

email: echanlee@iastate.edu

Erin Peters

Erin Peters

Undergraduate Student

email: empeters@iastate.edu

Elizabeth Griffin

Elizabeth Griffin

Undergraduate Student

email: lizg14@iastate.edu

Adam Eichhorn

Adam Eichhorn

Undergraduate Student

email: axe1@iastate.edu

Xilong Ke

Xilong Ke

Undergraduate Student

email: xke@iastate.edu

Iowa State Logo
We are always interested in Ph.D., Master candidates and undergraduate students with materials science background. However, all motivated and hard-working candidates are encouraged to apply.


Alumni
Serkan Demirci

Serkan Demirci, Ph.D.

Visiting Professor
Ph.D., Gazi University    
Current Position: Assistant Professor, Amasya University

email: sdemirci@iastate.edu

Emily Olson

Emily Olson

Ph.D.
Brown Graduate Fellowship, NASA Fellowship
MSE Research Excellence Award
Current Position: Research Scientist at Ecolab

email: ejolson@iastate.edu

Zihao photo

Zihao Xu

Iowa State Master

Iowa State PhD Candidate

email: zihaoxu@iastate.edu

Huang photo

Yanhua (Conan) Huang

Iowa State Master

Iowa State PhD Candidate

email: yanhuah@iastate.edu

Dana Photo

Dana Smith

Iowa State Bachelor

ES3, Geogia

Connor photo

Connor Hammons

Iowa State Bachelor


Nancy photo

Nancy Sweeney

Summer SULI Student

Weston photo

Weston Laake

Iowa State Bachelor

Charlie photo

Charles Truka

Iowa State Bachelor

Ana photo

Ana Miller

Iowa State Bachelor
NSF REU Award

HID Global, Minneapolis

Riley photo

Riley Behan

Iowa State Bachelor
NSF REU Award

MD/PhD, University of Iowa

Carmen photo

Carmen Wu

Summer NSF REU Student

Yasmeen photo

Yasmeen Mansoorieh

Iowa State Bachelor

John photo

John Henjum

Iowa State Bachelor

ATI

Mason photo

Mason Kenkel

First-Year Honors Undergraduate Student

email: mnkenkel@iastate.edu

Henry photo

Henry Thurber

First-Year Honors Undergraduate Student

email: hthurber@iastate.edu

Devin photo

Devin Palm

Undergraduate Student
Honor Program


email: dcpalm@iastate.edu

Madi photo

Madison Drent

Undergraduate Student
Dean’s Leadership Award
Undergraduate Research Assistantship (URA)


email: mldrent@iastate.edu

Tae Hyung Kim

Tae Hyung Kim

Undergraduate Student

email: taehyung@iastate.edu